Boycott Leicester

Covid-19 (coronavirus): UCU has produced advice for members. Find more information and updates here.

England map magnified

UCU's English regions

UCU has a number of regional committees covering England which bring together branches or local associations in particular areas in order to enhance the union's work.

The key aim of these regional committees is to foster closer contact between members in their region and coordinate discussion and activity and support between branches.

See the standing orders for regional committees [44kb] for more information on how the English regional committees function.

Highlight map of East Midlands region

East Midlands

The East Midlands regional committee covers branches in Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire and Rutland.

Highlight map of Eastern and Home Counties region

Eastern and home counties

UCU's eastern and home counties region covers branches in the east of England, including Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and Buckinghamshire.

Highlight map of London region


UCU's London regional committee covers branches in the central and Greater London.

Highlight map of North West region

North west

UCU's north west regional committee includes branches in Lancashire, Cheshire and the Isle of Man.

Highlight map of Northern region


The northern region covers branches in County Durham, Cumbria, Northumberland, Tees Valley and Tyne & Wear.

Highlight map of South region


This region includes branches in Hampshire, the Isle of Wight, Dorset, Wiltshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire, and the Channel Islands.

Highlight map of South West region

South west

The south west region covers branches in Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Bath and Bristol.

Highlight map of South East region

South east

The south east region covers branches the counties of Kent, Surrey, East Sussex and West Sussex.

Highlight map of West Midlands region

West Midlands

The West Midlands region covers branches in Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Herefordshire and Gloucestershire.

Highlight map of Yorkshire and Humberside region

Yorkshire and Humberside

The region includes branches in Yorkshire and North Lincolnshire.