Taking action in higher education
Voter registration pledge Trans flag

Equality standing committees

Fighting for equality in education and beyond.

The four equality standing committees are elected during the relevant annual meetings. The committees can send motions to national annual congress and sector conferences.

Black members' standing committee 2018-2019

  • Jason Arday (University of Roehampton)
  • Gargi Bhattacharyya (University of East London)
  • Miriyam Aouragh (University of Westminster)
  • Naina Kent (Hackney Learning Trust)
  • Maxine Looby (Oldham College)
  • Blaise Nkwenti-Azeh (University of Manchester)
  • Juliana Ojinnaka (Sheffield College)
  • Isabelle Rahman (College of North West London)
  • Saleem Rashid (The Sheffield College)
  • Nita Sanghera (Bournville College of FE)
  • Shalini Sharma (Keele University)
  • Victoria Showunmi (UCL - Institute of Education)

Disabled members' standing committee 2018-2019

  • Elane Heffernan (Hackney Community College) (Chair)
  • Lucy Burke (Manchester Metropolitan University)
  • Ciara Doyle (Greenwich University)
  • Marcia Grant-che (South Thames College)
  • Jan Hutton (Novus Prison Prison Branch)
  • Marian Mayer (Bournemouth University)
  • Themesa Neckles (University of Sheffield)
  • Andy Shaw (Warwickshire College)
  • Keith Simpson (City University - London)
  • Neal Terry (Newcastle College)
  • Jim Thakoordin (Bedfordshire ACE)
  • Chiara Vassell (Croydon College)

LGBT+ members' standing committee 2018-2019

  • Jennie Appleyard (Leeds City College)
  • Stephen Desmond (Southampton Solent University)
  • Peter Evans (South Thames College)
  • Virginia Fisher (Plymouth University)
  • Louise Gooddy (Accrington & Rossendale College)
  • Philip Inglesant (University of Oxford)
  • Megan Povey (University of Leeds)
  • Ryan Prout (Cardiff University)
  • CJ (Milton Keynes Prison Education)
  • Nicholas Williams (UAL - London College Fashion)
  • Lee Williscroft-Ferris (Northumberland Learning and Skills Service)

Women members' standing committee 2018-2019

  • Sue Abbot (Newcastle University) (Chair)
  • Vicky Blake (University of Leeds)
  • Pura Ariza (Manchester Metropolitan University)
  • Ariane Bogain (Northumbria University)
  • Carolyn Campbell (Trafford College) 
  • Carol Cody (City of Liverpool College)      
  • Jennifer Dods (Leeds Beckett University)
  • Deepa Govindarajan Driver (University of Reading)
  • Elane Heffernan (New City College)
  • Annie Jones (Sheffield Hallam University)
  • Rhiannon Lockley (Halesowen College)
  • Megan Povey (University of Leeds)
  • Elaine White (Bradford College)
Last updated: 10 July 2019