Open Letter to President Juan Manuel Santos

Dear Mr. President,

We, the undersigned, are writing to demand the immediate release from prison of Colombian academic Dr Miguel Angel Beltran. Dr Beltran has been imprisoned since May 2009 without being convicted of any crime whatsoever. He has been accused of 'rebellion' and branded a terrorist by the Colombian State, yet no evidence has been provided to back up the allegations.

We are deeply concerned that Dr Beltran, like so many others in Colombia, has been jailed for his political beliefs rather than for any crime; that he is being deprived of his liberty in order to silence him and discourage others like him from speaking out. We believe that academic freedom and freedom of expression are fundamental rights, and a pillar of democratic society, but Dr Beltran's ongoing detention shows that Colombia currently respects neither.

We therefore urge you to order his immediate release. The large number of political prisoners in Colombia's jails – be they academics, trade unionists, community leaders or other civil society activists – belies claims that human rights are being respected by the Colombian State.

We urge you to put an end to this shameful situation without delay.

Yours sincerely,

Professor Sir Richard Roberts, Nobel Prize Winner
Professor Sir John Ball, Sedleian Professor of Natural Philosophy, University of Oxford
Professor Dame Janet Nelson, Emeritus Professor of History, King's College London
Alan Whitaker, President, University and College Union
Terry Hoad, Vice President, University and College Union
Dr Sally Hunt, General Secretary, University and College Union

Professor Andrew Gilbert, University of Exeter

Professor Helen Gilbert, University of London

Professor John Gledhill, University of Manchester

Professor Jonathan Glover, King's College London

Professor Jane Aaron, University of Glamorgan Professor David Allen, Sheffield Hallam University Professor Sarah Ashwin, London School of Economics Professor Ruth Aylett, Heriot-Watt University Professor Sebastian Balfour, London School of Economics Professor Malcolm Barber, University of Reading Professor Ann-Marie Bathmaker, West of England University Professor Gargi Bhattacharyya, Aston University Professor Andreas Bieler, University of Nottingham Professor Bob Brecher, University of Brighton Professor David Broomhead, University of Manchester Professor David Bunce, Brunel University Professor Alister Burr, University of York Professor Paul Busch, University of York Professor Ray Bush, University of Leeds Professor Pat Caplan, University of London Professor Anthony Carbery, University of Edinburgh Professor David Chadwick, University of Kent Professor Thomas Collett, University of Sussex Professor Helen Colley, Manchester Metropolitan University Professor Mike Coombes, Newcastle University Professor Christine Cooper, University of Strathclyde Professor Greville Corbett, University of Surrey Professor Owen Davies, University of Hertfordshire Professor Mary Davis, London Metropolitan University Professor Peter Delves, University College London Professor Simon Duncan, University of Bradford Professor Richard Dyer, King's College London Professor Chris Eilbeck, Heriot-Watt University Professor Lawrie Elliott, Edinburgh Napier University Professor Tony Evans, University of Southampton Professor Stephan Feuchtwang, London School of Economics

Professor Jeremy Field, University of Sussex Professor Karl Figlio, University of Essex

Professor Rajmil Fischman, Keele University

Professor Steven French, University of Leeds

Professor David George, Swansea University

Professor Roderick Flower, University of London

Professor Fernand Gobet, Brunel University Professor Laurence Goldstein, University of Kent Professor Jonathan Gosling, University of Exeter Professor Helen Graham, University of London Professor Vic Grout, Glyndwr University Professor Martyn Hammersley, The Open University Professor Richard Hanley, University of Essex Professor Malcolm Heggie, University of Sussex Professor Piers Hellawell, Queen's University Belfast Professor Stephen Hodkinson, University of Nottingham Professor Martin Hooper, University of Edinburgh Professor Jim Howie, Heriot-Watt University Professor Rhys Jenkins, University of East Anglia Professor Heather Joshi, University of London Professor Anahid Kassabian, University of Liverpool Professor Christopher Knusel, University of Exeter Professor Ailsa Land, London School of Economics Professor Vicky Lebeau, University of Sussex Professor Robert Lee, University of Liverpool Professor David Lewis, Middlesex University Professor Wanda Lewis, University of Warwick Professor Niall Logan, Glasgow Caledonian University Professor Stuart Macdonald, University of Sheffield Professor Christine MacLeod, University of Bristol Professor Luke Martell, University of Sussex Professor Doreen Massey, The Open University Professor Eric Matthews, University of Aberdeen Professor Tim May, University of Salford Professor Daphne McCulloch, Glasgow Caledonian University Professor Mary McMurran, University of Nottingham Professor Elizabeth Meehan, Queen's University Belfast Professor Sara Mills, Sheffield Hallam University Professor David Mond, University of Warwick Professor James Montgomery, University of Cambridge

Professor Gareth Morgan, Sheffield Hallam University Professor Maurice Mulvenna, University of Ulster Professor Laura Mulvey, University of London Professor Isobel Murray, University of Aberdeen Professor Alistair Mutch, Nottingham Trent University Professor Stephen Nugent, University of London Professor Eric Olson, University of Sheffield Professor John O'Neill, University of Manchester Professor Bill Overton, Loughborough University Professor Andy Penaluna, Swansea Metropolitan University Professor Hilary Povey, Sheffield Hallam University Professor Paul Preston, London School of Economics Professor Gesine Reinert, University of Oxford Professor Jonathan Rosenhead, London School of Economics Professor Raphael Salkie, University of Brighton Professor Andrew Sayer, Lancaster University Professor Michael Shaw, University of Reading Professor David Simon, University of London Professor Martin Sinha, University of Southampton Professor Nick Smirnoff, University of Exeter Professor Alan Sokal, University College London Professor Kirsten Stalker, University of Strathclyde Professor Trevor Stuart, Imperial College London Professor Peter Taylor-Gooby, University of Kent Professor Richard Thomas, Imperial College London Professor Jon Tonge, University of Liverpool Professor Colin Torrance, University of Glamorgan Professor Joy Townsend, University of London Professor Geoffrey Turner, University of Sheffield Professor Carole-Anne Upton, University of Ulster Professor Peter Wade, University of Manchester Professor Philip Wadler, University of Edinburgh Professor Judy Wajcman, London School of Economics Professor Paul Ward, University of Huddersfield Professor David Wiles, University of London Professor Andrew Williams, University of Warwick Professor Jocelyn Wogan-Browne, University of York

Professor Adrian Moore, University of Oxford

And more than a thousand other British academics

(Full list available at www.ucu.org.uk)