Dr Steve Wharton and Dr Dennis Hayes Joint Presidents University and College Union Egmont House 25-31 Tavistock Place London WC1H 9UT

12th March 2007

Dear Dr Wharton & Dr Hayes

UCU ELECTIONS 2007 - HIGHER EDUCATION

My report of voting in the above election, which closed at noon on Wednesday 7th March 2007, is as follows:

UK ELECTED MEMBERS - HIGHER EDUCATION

Number of ballot papers despatched	67,346
Number of ballot papers returned	9,488
Number of invalid papers	715
Therefore number of valid votes counted	8,773

The system used to conduct these elections was the Single Transferable Vote.

Result: fourteen to elect

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

- 1. Dr Gargi Bhattacharyya
- 2. Professor Malcolm Povey
- 3. Ms Sue Blackwell
- 4. Dr Marion Hersh
- 5. Mr Philip Burgess
- 6. Mr Nick James
- 7. Ms Maeve Landman
- 8. Mr Terry Hoad
- 9. Ms Lesley Kane
- 10. Dr Lesley McIntosh
- 11. Ms Angela Shann
- 12. Mr Neil Douglas
- 13. Mr Rob Clifton
- 14. Ms Christine Vie

The result sheet forms Appendix A to this report. Please note candidates elected to Geographical seats were discounted from this election.

UCU ELECTIONS 2007 - HIGHER EDUCATION MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE: REPORT PAGE 2

GEOGRAPHICALLY-ELECTED MEMBERS - HIGHER EDUCATION

NORTH EAST

Number of ballot papers despatched	10,215
Number of ballot papers returned	1,732
Number of invalid papers	22
Therefore number of valid votes counted	1,710

Result: three to elect

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

- 1. Dr Gavin Reid
- Dr Elizabeth Lawrence
 Mr Jeff Fowler

The result sheet forms Appendix B to this report.

LONDON AND THE EAST

Number of ballot papers despatched	14,503
Number of ballot papers returned	1,984
Number of invalid papers	56
Therefore number of valid votes counted	1,928

Result: three to elect

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

- 1. Ms Jill Jones
- Mr Simon Renton
 Ms Jane Hardy

The result sheet forms Appendix C to this report.

<u>SOUTH</u>

Number of ballot papers despatched	12,88
Number of ballot papers returned	2,046
Number of invalid papers	38
Therefore number of valid votes counted	2,008

Result: three to elect

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

- Mr Jim Guild
 Mr Tom Hickey
 Dr Bevis Miller

UCU ELECTIONS 2007 - HIGHER EDUCATION MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE: REPORT PAGE 3

The result sheet forms Appendix D to this report.

NORTH WEST

Number of ballot papers despatched	7,719
Number of ballot papers returned	1,138
Number of invalid papers	18
Therefore number of valid votes counted	1,120

Result: two to elect

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

- 1. Dr Karen Evans
- 2. Dr Roger Brooks

The result sheet forms Appendix E to this report.

MIDLANDS

Number of ballot papers despatched	9,408
Number of ballot papers returned	1,427
Number of invalid papers	16
Therefore number of valid votes counted	1,411

Result: two to elect

The following candidates were elected (in order of election):

- 1. Dr Anne-Marie Greene
- 2. Mr Neil Williamson

The result sheet forms Appendix F to this report.

HIGHER EDUCATION (SCOTLAND) AND PRESIDENT OF UCU SCOTLAND

Mr Terry Brotherstone is elected unopposed.

HIGHER EDUCATION (SCOTLAND) AND HONORARY SECRETARY OF UCU SCOTLAND

Dr Angela Roger is elected unopposed.

UCU ELECTIONS 2007 - HIGHER EDUCATION MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE: REPORT PAGE 4

NORTHERN IRELAND

Dr Terry McKnight is elected unopposed.

WALES

Mr Andrew Morgan is elected unopposed.

Each result sheet details:

- the quota required for election
- each candidate's voting figures, and
- the stage at which the successful candidates were elected.

The ballot papers will be stored in accordance with the requirements of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 as amended by the Trade Union Reform and Employment Rights Act 1993.

As Scrutineers appointed in accordance with Section 49 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (as amended), we are satisfied as to each of the matters specified in subsection 52(2) with regard to the election. The following points should also be noted:

1) The person appointed under section 51A to carry out the storage, and counting of voting papers was Electoral Reform Services Limited.

2) The person appointed under section 51A to carry out the distribution of voting papers was Electoral Reform Services Limited.

3) A copy of the register of voters (as at the relevant date) was examined in accordance with section 49(3). The examination took place at our own instance and did not reveal any matter that should be brought to the attention of the trade union.

We would draw your attention to Sections 52(4), 52(5) and 52(6). 52(4) requires that a copy of this report be published and made available to all members of the UCU within a three month period from today. This however, does not mean that every member has to be notified individually.

Ballot papers will be stored for a period of 12 months before being securely destroyed.

Yours sincerely

M/lame Colory

Melanie Adams Consultant