

**Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on** Tuesday 16<sup>th</sup> April 2024, at Quaker House Outreach Centre, 74 Mutley Plain, Plymouth, and by Zoom (hybrid meeting)

Present:(In person): Tony Staunton (Chair), Mike Sheaff (Vice-Chair), Barbara Segal, Charles Henderson<br/>(By Zoom): Mike Farmer (Secretary) John Daniell (Treasurer), Jo Corke (Membership Secretary),<br/>Margaret George, Stephanie Tailby, Eleanor JacksonApologies:Barbara Chambers

Minute	ltem	Action
1	Welcome by the Chair	
	TS welcomed members to the branch's first hybrid annual general meeting.	
2	Minutes of the previous AGM held on 4 <sup>th</sup> April 2023	
	The minutes were approved	
3	Matters arising (not otherwise on the agenda)	
	None	
4	Annual Reports	
	Secretary's report	
	The Secretary's report on the activities of the Branch over the previous 12 months was <b>received</b> .	
	Treasurer's report	
	The Treasurer presented the annual accounts for the period September 2022 – August 2023, which had been audited. These were <b>approved</b> .	
	Membership Secretary	
	The Membership 'secretary's report on membership over the previous 12 months was <b>received</b> .	
5	Elections	
	Officers and Committee members	
	Branch Officers (Branch Rule 8.1 and 7.3(a)) and Committee members (Branch Rule 7.3(b))– a report from Returning Officer and Secretary was <b>received</b> .	

Minute	Item	Action
	The following were consequently <u>declared elected:</u>	
	Chair: Tony Staunton	
	Vice-Chair: Mike Sheaff	
	<ul> <li>Secretary: Mike Farmer</li> <li>Treasurer: John Daniell</li> </ul>	
	Membership Secretary	
	Committee members in addition to the Officers: up to five ordinary members	
	(Branch Rule 7.3(b))	
	Stephanie Tailby     Charles Handares	
	Charles Henderson	
	There were no nominations for the post of Equality Officer. JC agreed to attend a meeting of the SW Region Equality Committee on 17 <sup>th</sup> April and report back.	
	There were no further nominations for the Committee.	
	Other Branch posts	
	Environmental Officer/Green Rep: Tony Staunton was elected.	
	Auditor: Barbara Segal was elected.	
	Returning Officer: Barbara Segal was elected.	
	Delegates and representatives	
	<b>Regional Council:</b> Stephanie Tailby, Charles Henderson, Margaret George, with reserve Mike Sheaff, were elected.	
	Congress 2024: Mike Farmer was elected	
	Trades Councils	
	Bristol: Barbara Segal and Stephanie Tailby were elected.	
	Bridgwater: [no nominations]	
	Cheltenham: Mike Farmer was elected	
	Exeter: {no nominations]	
	Gloucester: Ruth Amias was elected	
	Mendip: Eleanor Jackson was elected.	
	Plymouth: Tony Staunton and Mike Sheaff were elected.	

Minute	ltem	Action
	Stroud: Ruth Amias was elected.	
	Taunton & W Somerset: Charles Henderson was elected.	
	Torbay: [no nominations].	
	SW TUC Pensioners' Conference: deferred until the body become active again	
	NPC GAS (Gloucester, Avon & Somerset): Ruth Amias, Barbara Segal and Mike Farmer were elected	
	NPC Devon: [no nominations].	
	Vacancies	
	It was <b>agreed</b> to write to all members seeking volunteers to fill those posts not yet filled: Equality Officer, Bridgwater, Exeter and Torbay TCs, Devon NPC.	
6	AOB	
	None	
7	Date of next AGM – to be agreed as part of the 2024/25 Branch calendar.	