Boycott Liverpool

Boycott Leicester

Covid-19 information and updates

Reshuffle January 2018

Following the conclusion of the government reshuffle, below is a summary of the most relevant changes affecting post-compulsory education.

Department for Education

  • Damian Hinds is the new Education Secretary (replacing Justine Greening who has resigned from government)
  • Sam Gyimah is the new Minister for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation(replacing Jo Johnson who has gone to the Department for Transport)
  • Nadhim Zahawi is the new Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Education (remit to be confirmed but likely to be primarily focussed on schools)
  • Anne Milton remains in post as Apprenticeships and Skills Minister

Ministry of Justice

  • David Gauke is the new Justice Secretary (replacing David Lidlington)
  • Lucy Frazer is the new Prisons and Probation Minister(replacing Sam Gyimah)

Home Office

  • Caroline Nokesis the new Immigration Minister (replacing Brandon Lewis)

 Work and Pensions

  • Esther McVey is the new Work and Pensions Secretary(replacing David Gauke)
  • Guy Opperman remains in post as Pensions Minister

 Northern Ireland

  • Karen Bradley is the new Northern Ireland Secretary(replacing James Brokenshire)
  • Shailish Varais the new Northern Ireland Minister(replacing Chloe Smith)

The full details of changes in each department can be found here.

Last updated: 12 January 2018